The National Day of Egyptian Gays… Again

Want to know what I really think of the National Day of Egyptian Gays (previously blogged about here)?

None of the LGBT activists “on the ground” know who is organising it. That is enough to raise a few eyebrows. And no-one in the community is taking it seriously. (If anyone knows the organisers personally, please let me know).

Everything about the Facebook page is suspicious, though advocating conspiracy theories is not something I am apt to do.

The page’s admins have previously refused to be in touch with media, claiming that media attention on this issue will only create a “balbala i3lamiyya”– such a beautiful expression that is so difficult to translate! Perhaps we can call it a “Media Hullabaloo”.

I wonder, isn’t having a Facebook page calling for a National Day for Egyptian Gays and a demonstration in Tahrir already creating a media hullabaloo?  If the admins/oragnisers really wanted to take Egypt by surprise with this march, and not alert the media beforehand, would it not have been better to organise it by word of mouth???? The LGBT community is wide, but we are all connected somehow…

A public Facebook page is not the platform I would use should I need to discretely organise a gay revolution.

Deciding not to join this march is not a sign of my weakness and “un-revolutionary-ness”. I prefer not ride every single wave. There is always next wave!

This is not the end of what I have to say about this National Day of Egyptian Gays. I will get around to writing a post about the rich discourse the page is creating about LGBT’s “existence” in Egypt. Once I got over the initial shock of the hateful comments, some of which are compiled and translated here, I started finding some of them fascinating… absolutely fascinating.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

